Monday, June 30, 2008

Long awaited update

Back by popular demand...
Sorry I haven't posted recently I have been so busy! I dont even have
and good pictures to show u guys because they are on my other camera :-
( Barcelona was AMAZING! In the morning we did alittle sight seeing
but soon realized that Spain is much too hot for sight seeing. We then
went shopping down las rables, I wanted to buy a crocodile but I
thought it would be tough to get back into the us.we were now pretty
hot so we decided to hit a tapas bar. We dont do tapas bars right in
the us. In Spain they come in squares with like 20 different resturant
in a row. You dont go eat an entire meal at one you sit down and
everyone orders a beer or a pitcher of sangria (mmmmmm they make it
really sweet in Spain so its like halfway beetwesn red wine and
carbonated grape juice) and one or two tapas per group this way the
focus is conversation (and drinking) and then u get up and more along
and do the same, you do this several times per day. LOL then more
shopping then more tappas bar hoping then we met up with some others
at 6 and we went to this great locals only bar the pitchers of sangria
were super cheap and I think they had 10 shots for 18 euro idk I dont
like shots. We went and got paella for dinner (delish) then headed
down to the beach to watch the euro cup finals, espana vs germany. We
watched in an Aussie bar, they had the strongest sangria I have ever
tasted ( Kerry would like me to add we remained sober) the bar was
standing room only smokey and very very loud people were always
screaming and cheering. Spain won and the streets were filled with
celebrating people and the bars were opening champagne outside and
throwing it at people. I filmed to bar when the time ran out its
really cool I'll show you guys when I get home. At about 2:15 me Kerry
and two very drunk guys on our tour headed our to try and get a taxi,
the rest of barcelona was also trying to get a cab, while we waited
one of the guys started sobbering up a bit but one got much worse he
was passed out on the ground, we rolled him to his side after trying
to keep him Awake for a long time, life lesson number two something I
didn't know, cab drivers won't drive super drunk passed out people, no
cAb driver was getting near us LOL we were like fudgeI guess we should
wait until he sobers up a bit (dumb idea, he was only getting worse,
started throwing up unconcious (eww) making him even less likely to
get a cab, our friend cam had been partying with this local, he ended
up paying a cab driver off to take us, LOL Simon threw up in the car
pretty gross we arrive at about 3:30 I think, me and nathan get him
out of the car he tries to go to sleep in someone elses tent we
finally get him into his tent I go shower, his tentmate arrives in a
cab go to check on Simon find him throwing up in his tent so steeve
his roommate gets his stuff out them we roll him on his side so he
won't chock I send Steve to sleep in kris tent becAuse Kerry said they
were sleeping at beach, kris apparently wasn't so peaks in sees Steve
and ends up sleeping outside his tent LOL all in all it was tons of
fun in Barcelona at 3 in the morning the streets were totally packed
with people celebrating and drinking and it was my first time clubbing
LOL weird Spanish guys kept trying to dance with me LOL you kind of
dance away from them. there was this one guy who was totally rocking
out with himself he looked really silly. Love and miss you guys!

Love you, Ashley!

4 comments:

Jordan said...

very cool! Thanks for the update! Sounds like an incredible adventure! Back to the grind here for a 4 day week followed by the 4th of July - not a big holiday over there, I hear. Except maybe in France. Love!

Diane said...

well I am really glad everything worked out all right:-). The only thing you left out was how bad Simon's head hurt the next morning;-). I glad you are having fun. Stay safe and have fun. Love Mommy.

elise said...

Wow!! how fun!! Ashley, that would never happen here over a game of soccer. Love to see you experiencing the culture....miss you but glad your having fun!

Unknown said...

I can't believe you were in Spain for the world cup finals in a game Spain won! That's beyond awesome! Something to remember forever. Thanks for sharing it with us. Love, MomMom.